[Announcement] Network problems

Yesterday evening, freenode had network problems related to the recent spambot infestation. Despite the recent server patch, the underlying infestation continues and has created some temporary resource issues. Several servers restarts ensued and network staff rearranged the main server rotation to compensate for the problem.

The network is once again running smoothly. However, in order to resolve remaining resource issues, staff has scheduled server restarts at 6am UTC (10pm in San Francisco, 7am in Stockholm, 5pm in Sydney). The restarts will affect most of the network but should be very brief.

Other than the problems yesterday evening, the network has been running well, and staff considers the upgrade to be a qualified success. We’ll keep you posted in case of additional problems. Thanks much for your patience!